Nana Michelle Aloha Recipes Infamous Story of My Mother’s Beer Bread

I got the news on Monday, July 15, 2013 that my beautiful mother had passed away and was flying with the angels in heaven. As the memories flooded my mind the story of how I got the recipe for my Mother’s Beer Bread came to mind and I just knew this is what she was putting in my mind to share with the world in her honor.
The Infamous Story of My Mother’s Beer Bread
My mother was visiting me here in Hawaii and forgot her handwritten cookbook and wanted to give me her Beer Bread recipe and was getting upset she couldn’t remember it. She asked me to take her to the store for some beer. She buys the cheapest most disgusting smelling beer she could find. Gets it nice and cold except for one  12 oz. can. When she is three sheets to the wind she gets up goes into the kitchen and mixes 3 cups of Self Rising Flour, and 1/4 cup sugar. Then she pours the last can of beer in the mix and stirred it like a crazy woman. She looks at me pours it really fast into the pie tin and put it in a preheated 375 degree oven for one hour. Takes it out and says with a straight face “Yep gotta be drunk off my a** to remember it!
7 comments on “Nana Michelle Aloha Recipes Infamous Story of My Mother’s Beer Bread”

    • Thank you Nettie lol my mother was a character and people wonder where I got my sense of humor lol I think you know where I got it from by reading this tribute to her humor and her beer bread.

  1. beautiful! thanks. Sorry to hear about your mom passing. My thoughts are with you and your family.

  2. Love it!

  3. I’m Mormon, do you think this will work with cheap rootbeer? Hee hee!

    • LOL Caryn the alcohol actually bakes off during the cooking process so technically you are not consuming an alcoholic beverage. The beer works as the yeast would and gives this bread from what the wildchild boys say a slightly nutty taste. LOL and I have Mormon friends who love when I make this bread. I bet you can just hear my Mother in your head right now lol and I hope it makes you laugh out loud because she was larger than like even though she was only 5’2 and a half as she always added quite indignantly lol


Leave a Reply

