Nana Michelle Aloha Recipes Oven Kalua Pig

One of the recipes that has become a signature dish for us is our Oven Kalua Pig. Anytime there is a big party going on we get a call for a huge tray and we always try to make sure there is enough for everyone lol but you snooze you lose because this goes really fast! This is something that we make and freeze and when we know we are going to be going to the beach we make a plate lunch and we make sure we have lau lau, lomi salmon and rice and of course the Kalua Pig. For those of you worried about what we serve it in when we go to the beach no worries we are very careful and we recycle all that we use including the containers.

One of the things that made us very touched was when one of the wildchild boy’s family members on the Hawaiian side passed away suddenly and his family was struggling to find the money for the memorial service and another family member asked if I would be willing to show them how to make my Oven Kalua Pig Recipe and we proceeded to make the first batch lol out of a 300 lb. freshly caught wild boar. I think by the time they finished the fundraising they had made well over a thousand pounds of Kalua Pig and it went as fast as they could make it because people just kept coming back for more.

Kalua Pig Fundraising Photo

LOL now this may not seem funny to you but I am believe it or not I am a girly girly girl lol and I like my pink and purple girly stuff. But when the call comes the pink gets put aside and the Amazon Nana comes out in full force to the rescue! This was one of those times I put it all aside and dug in up past my elbows and went into Amazon Nana status with Uncle Kahala to get the job done.

We butchered the wild pig

Cutting up the 300 lb. pig

We seasoned the piggy and no one got a picture of me massaging all that piggy lol

wrapping the pig in the foil

I wrapped that piggy up and in the oven he went!

Once the piggy is done take the piggy out and let it cool

Pork Roast for Kalua Pig Fresh Out of Oven

Get the two forks ready and prepare to get some shredding action done like Uncle Kahala who became an expert at it really fast!

Shredding Kalua Pig Action

There you have it from our family to yours how to bring a little aloha to your little corner of the world

Nana Michelle Aloha Recipes Easy Oven Kalua Pig

Ingredients:

5-10 lbs. Whole Pork Butt

1 1/2 Tbsps. Liquid Smoke

1/2 cup Hawaiian Salt (Kosher Salt or Sea Salt works too)

Directions:

1) Mix the Liquid Smoke and the Hawaiian Salt together.

2) Massage the mixture into the pork butt making sure it is in every little tiny crevice, nook and cranny puka (hole in Hawaiian) of that pork butt) I am talking at least 5 minutes of massaging this in! (This where the love is infused in my cooking).

3) Take the Pork Butt and wrap it up in foil and make sure it is completely sealed so no juices escape from the foil during the imu simulation that is going to be going on in the oven.

4) Set the oven to 350 degrees (F) and place the foil wrapped Pork Butt in a large baking pan and place it in the oven. If you are doing this as an overnight thing then set the oven heat to 250 degrees (F).

5) Cook the Pork Butt for 5 1/2 hours and do not open the oven door, do not look in the foil just leave it be. If you are cooking it overnight then just put it in the oven and let it be until morning.

6) Remove the Pork Butt from the oven and let it cool down enough to handle. Do not throw away the juice.

7) Once the Pork Butt has cooled off enough to handle start shredding it with your hands.

8) When all the Kalua Pig has been shredded let it soak in the pan juices for about an hour so the juices and the taste is infused in every single piece of the pork.

9) Strain the pork through a sieve or a colander with small holes to remove some of the juice from your Kalua Pig. (Don’t throw away the pan juices you may want to add some in if your pork seems to dry after you have strained it or heated it up later).

10) Taste test and add more Hawaiian Salt if you need (I have never needed to but I tend to cook with less salt and let people add it at the table).

Serve with fresh cooked rice

This freezes really well and to reheat just heat it up in the microwave oven.

I have seen recipes where they have a lot more ingredients but this is the old style way and that is the way I keep it! I don’t change perfection.

12 comments on “Nana Michelle Aloha Recipes Oven Kalua Pig”

  1. That was awesome that you showed them how to make the recipe. This sounds so good. I am a huge fan of pulled pork that is slow roasted all day long. I bet this tastes so good and it’s no wonder it doesn’t last long. You snooze you lose.. I bet! Cheers Michelle.

    • Mr. CBB
      LOL well it beat the alternative to making over 1,000 lbs. of it which is how much they sold when all was said and done.

      • That must have been a huge milestone for them then. Wow.

      • I was just happy to be able to share and help them out and that is what it is all about isn’t it?

      • That’s just it, helping people and why I do what I do. I don’t hope to become a millionaire.. I hope to show others how important taking time out to take care of personal finances can go a long way. You are a very kind person.

      • It is how we were raised and how I raised my children and now my grandchildren. It is all about passing on a random act of kindness any chance we get in life because somewhere in time someone has done the same thing for us.

      • You know that’s true. I know that the fans that stick around know that what we do is for the good of the people and not to score thousands of dollars each month. I often say if the money comes it’s because the people drive it there through the same RAOK as we give out to them. How long have you been blogging?

      • LOL well I just started this one actually back in May but the FB one I started back on December 15, 2013 and I am amazed it has grown to where it is as fast as it has. I had no idea the wildchild boys and I would have such a following lol and of course they think it is cool beyond belief.

      • That’s awesome and you have to be proud because there are many people who want to learn to cook foods from different cultures. I’ve travelled to a few places around the world and food with the locals was always important to me. I wanted to know how they cooked in their own homes rather than eating tourist food in the resorts or restaurants geared for tourists. I hope one day my FB page will be just as successful as you Michelle. Keep up the great work.

      • I know yours will and I would be honored if you wanted to share any of our recipes. Almost all are what I call Tap Water Budget friendly. We have so many people who are on limited budgets especially with the Furlough Fridays as we call them here in Hawaii and now on the news last night they said that amounts to a 20% decrease in their paychecks.
        I was looking at your FB page and you gave me an idea for Wednesdays and that would be to post the sale items that I personally buy to cook with and post where they can be found locally.
        Thank you so much for your encouragement lol this blog is a whole new thing for me haha screaming and kicking into a new technology media.

      • That’s awesome!! I’m so happy that you were inspired to try something new! I’m not a Food page on my Canadian Budget Binder FB page but I do share a recipe every Sunday on my CBB blog. The hard part is reaching out to the masses on Facebook so I depend on others to help me share and that is why I do the same. It’s hard though. I want to show people what we do and have learned in our quest to be debt free. I have many fans from all over the world. I’ve never been to Hawaii BUT if I ever come I know I have a friend to come and visit now! 🙂 Mr.CBB

      • We love to share our local style of the islands with visitors instead of the tourist view that is so hectic with the you have to cram it all in a few days to see it all. LOL we just get in the car and go and stop along little hole in the wall places that the locals visit. It is a side of the islands that is what we are and not what we are portrayed as in media and vacation brochures. I would be honored if you came here one day and allowed us to show you the aloha spirit first hand : )


Leave a Reply

