Nana Michelle Aloha Recipes Ham & Cheese Tator Tot Bake

Nana Michelle Aloha Recipes Ham & Cheese Tator Tot Bake

When I get three different requests for what everyone wants me to make for dinner to please everyone I compromise and I get creative. After a week of drooling over other Foodie Facebook pages and Foodie Blogs my mind starts doing the “Oh the possibilities” syndrome much to the delight of the Wildchild Boys. Well last night was no exception so I looked at what I had and I just started putting it together in the baking dish.

If you could smell the aroma coming from my kitchen you would have sworn I had a ton of bacon cooking! LOL they were having a BBQ across the street and poor things were eating Hot Dogs and I could hear the comments from my kitchen about the aroma coming from my kitchen and wafting over them. LOL sweet revenge for smoking me out with the to big a fire on the grill they had going. I would have shared if they had asked lol just for the record because I am nice like that and I would have improvised and doubled the recipe.

This was so delicious there were no leftovers and it is easy and very Tap Water Budget friendly.

Ingredients:

1 large package of Frozen Tator Tots (enough to line the bottom of the baking dish you are going to bake this in)

4 cups of Mexican 5 Blend Shredded Cheese (If you have a favorite cheese go for it)

4 cups of bite size leftover Honey Mustard Ham (or any ham you have left over with some awesome flavors)

1 cup finely shredded carrots

1/2 tbsp. fresh cracked black pepper (you could use Cayenne here too)

1 tbsp. Hawaiian Salt (any coarse sea salt works here too)

 

Directions:

1. First Layer: Take the frozen Tator Tots and line the bottom of the baking dish with them. I mean row by row so it is an even base covering the entire bottom of the baking dish. By doing this each bite has a Tator Tot in it. LOL besides I am one of those people who is weird and everything has to line up in even rows on the bottom layer.

2. Second Layer: Add a generous layer of the cheese that you have mixed the shredded carrots into so that it looks like the carrots and the cheese are one (sneaky aren’t I?).

3. Third Layer: Spread the Honey Mustard Ham evenly over the top of the cheese layer.

4. Fourth Layer: Spread the rest of the cheese over the top and add in the salt and pepper and any other spice combo that calls out to you (you will know what I mean).

5. Bake at 350 degrees (F) uncovered until the Tator Tots are fully cooked which should be about 30 minutes.

6. Remove from oven and let the Ham & Cheese Tator Tot Bake just sit for a couple of minutes before serving and then slice with a pizza cutter like I did and serve.

 

 

Leave a Reply

