Nana Michelle Aloha Recipes Famous Mystery Cake

Nana Michelle Aloha Recipes Famous Mystery Cake Recipe
This recipe is my gift to you because I am blessed to pass this recipe on to the next generation of future Master Bakers in training. I have a young church fan who is an incredible chef in his own right and he kept begging me to share the recipe with him and I finally did before I posted it online and the photo you see is his gift to me when he made it for the first time and shared it with friend’s and family at their annual Christmas Block Party.
You may ask what the mystery is and it seems to be that people think there is chocolate in the cake but there is not a single ounce of chocolate.
This recipe was handed down to me by my Grandmother Mae when I was 10 years old and she said it had been in her family for generations and handed down from her Grandmother to her Mother. Someone had said it was like a recipe for a Texas Tornado Cake and I am sure there are versions of it out there but this is ours and I have tweaked it over the years to make it easier to make in our modern times.

Ingredients:
Cake Ingredients:
2 cups of flour
1 1/2 cups white sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons Baking Soda
1 (1 lb.) can of Fruit Cocktail in heavy syrup (I tried the light syrup and it didn’t taste right)

Directions for cake:
1) Mix together the cake ingredients until batter is smooth.
2) Pour the cake batter into a 9×13 cake pan.

Cake Topping Ingredients:
Enough brown sugar to lightly cover entire cake (2 of my handfuls)
1 1/2 cups chopped Pecans

Topping Directions:
1) Sprinkle brown sugar over entire cake evenly
2) Sprinkle the pecans over the cake evenly

Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes. Cake should look very dark and pecans should be thoroughly roasted on top.

Sauce Topping:
Ingredients:
1 cup of white sugar
1 stick of unsalted sweet butter
1(12 oz.) can of Evaporated Milk
1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

Directions:
1) Put all the sauce ingredients in a sauce pan (medium heat) and let it come to a boil.
2) Let it boil for 7-8 minutes stirring very frequently so it doesn’t burn.
3) Remove sauce from the heat and pour it evenly over the cake.
4) Let it soak down into the cake for at least 30 minutes.

I think it is best served still warm
I know someone who also put a scoop of Vanilla Ice Cream over the top of their chunk of cake.

This cake is by no means pretty but as good as it tastes it doesn’t have to be

Leave a Reply

