Mother’s Day 2013

I had an incredible Mother’s Day! I was blessed to spend it with both my daughter’s and 4 out of 8 Grandchildren. LOL I am not one of those greedy mothers who feels slighted when my adult children have to spend time with in-laws for some of the many holidays and events. I realize that there are two families to consider and my turn will come soon enough.

We started off our special Mother’s Day at Kapolei United Methodist Church and yep those little ones during children’s church got me up and running lol and I felt like I did 2 hours of Zumba by the time I got to hand them back over to their mothers and fathers. LOL oh to just have a little of that little child energy! I love having them all with me though and that is a major blessing in my life. One parent fondly reminded me (as I am sure he was looking at a few of the recessive blond hairs on my head) that I was the one who had him for Children’s Church when he was little. I am so proud of the man he has become and I am so glad I was a part of helping him get there by sharing my faith with him. I am currently on what I was reminded my 4th generation of children at church. LOL where have the years gone? I couldn’t help but feel so blessed even though this group of little ones are way more energetic than past ones lol and way more naughty that this was the perfect way to spend Mother’s Day surrounded by those I have led by faith through the years.

My afternoon and evening was spent with my daughters down at the pool just sharing memories and laughing and talking about the past and the present and children. We grilled chicken and roasted corn still in the husk. It was a laid back kind of time which will be remembered as one of our best times shared as mother and daughters and as three mothers looking over at our wildchild ones all jumping and running and having fun in the pool and feeling like we didn’t want this incredible day to end.

For those of you who are interested in the Grilled Chicken Recipe I am willing to share as it is sweet and simple and easy and fits any Tap Water Budget.

Nana Michelle Aloha Recipes Grilled Chicken

Ingredients:

Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts ( You can also use the Boneless Skinless Chicken Thighs)

Garlic Salt

Italian Seasoning

Fresh Ground Cracked Pepper (Peppercorns in a Pepper Grinder)

Directions:

1. Place your Chicken on foil and sprinkle the Garlic Salt first, the Italian Seasoning second and then the Pepper third. You may be asking why this order and that is because it is all about layering the flavors on the chicken for the best taste.

2. Flip the Chicken over and repeat Step Number One.

3. Place Chicken on the grill and you want the flame to be medium not high because you want to grill the chicken not burn it up to where it is charred but grilled so you can see the grill marks seared into the chicken.

4. Close the lid of the grill and just leave it alone no peeking unless you see lots of smoke or flames for 8-10 minutes. (Depending on the size of your chicken breasts)

5. At the 8-10 minute mark flip the chicken over and let it cook another 5-8 minutes.

6. Remove from the grill and let the chicken sit a couple of minutes before serving so the juices have time to settle.

Leave a Reply

